Camps & Clinics‎ > ‎

IHSWCA Spring Clinic


WHEN:                  Friday - April 22, 2016

WHERE:                University of Indianapolis

                COST:                    $40  for one, $30 for multiples from same staff

                                                Cost includes lunch and clinic gift

TIMES:                   8am – 9am – registration

9-10:30 – Tom Ryan

10:30 – Break

10:40-11:30   - Tom Ryan                

11:30 – 12:15 – Lunch and Business Meetings

-       Lunch provided by Subway

12:15 – 1:30         Tom Ryan

2:00 - ??                Question and Answer


Tom Ryan - BIO:

Coach of 4x NCAA Champ Logan Steiber

Coach of World Champion Kyle Snyder

Coach of World Team Member Reece Humphrey

2015 NCAA Team Champions

2015 NCAA Big Ten Champions

Career Total

222-126-1 (.656)

Ohio State Total

113-42-0 (.729)

Big Ten Total

47-26-0 (.644)

Tom Ryan has led the Ohio State wrestling program to unprecedented heights, culminating last season with the program's first-ever national championship. The 2015 Big Ten, NWCA and InterMat Coach of the Year, Ryan concluded his ninth season in Columbus by watching both Logan Stieber and Nathan Tomasello win NCAA titles on the way to the squad's first ever team title. Additionally, the Buckeyes also ended a 64-year Big Ten title drought, winning the championship in front of a home crowd at St. John Arena.

In all, Ryan has coached four different student-athletes to eight national championships as Logan Stieber (141 pounds) was a four-time champion, J Jaggers (141 pounds), the 2009 Ohio State Male Athlete of the Year, was a two-time champion in 2008 and 2009, Mike Pucillo was the 184-pound champion in 2008 and Nathan Tomasello the 125 pound champion in 2015. In the NCAA championship team race, the Ryan-led Buckeyes have finished in the Top 10 in eight of the last nine seasons, including the 2015 national title and back-to-back runner-up finishes in 2008 and 2009.

Additionally, Ryan and his staff have coached 14 NCAA finalists - Stieber (2012-15), Jaggers (2008, 2009), Pucillo (2008, 2009), Tomasello (2015), Kyle Snyder (2015), Nick Helfin (2014), Lance Palmer (2010), Reece Humphrey (2009), J.D. Bergman (2008). Under Ryan's tutulage, nine Buckeyes have been crowed Big Ten champions - Pucillo (2008), Palmer (2010), L. Stieber (2012-15), H. Stieber (2013), Tomasello (2015) and Helfin (2014).

Throughout his tenure as the head coach of Ohio State, Ryan, a three-time national coach of the year, has maintained a high standard of excellence for his student-athletes. In addition to the successes of Jaggers, Pucillo and Stieber on the national level, under Ryan's guidance Lance Palmer (2007-10) became just the second four-time All-American at Ohio State. (Tommy Rowlands was the first). Ryan, a native of Wantagh, N.Y., is averaging about three All-Americans a season having coached 23 selections during his seven-year term. Within the Big Ten Conference, Ryan has coached a quartet of Buckeyes to league titles in Pucillo (184 pounds in 2008), Palmer (149 pounds in 2010), Logan Stieber (133 pounds in 2012 and 2013) and Hunter Stieber (141 pounds in 2013).

Prior to coaching at Ohio State, Ryan was the head coach at Hofstra from 1995-2006. While with the Pride, Ryan earned Eastern Collegiate Wrestling Association and Colonial Athletic Association Coach of the Year honors seven times. He also was named New York State Coach of the Year twice. Leading Hofstra to six consecutive conference titles, Ryan and the Pride recorded a 47-match (46-0-1) conference unbeaten streak in dual action which served as the nation's longest conference unbeaten streak. Ryan also was an assistant coach at Indiana from 1992-94.

Ryan earned his bachelor's degree in education from Iowa in 1993. He and his wife, Lynette, have four children, Jordan, Jake, Teague and Mackenzie 

Coach Harreld,
Sep 29, 2015, 11:35 AM